HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE…

It’s been a very loooooooong hiatus (pls grab your dictionary) and I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like to be here. 

*covers face*

Lo siento.


Maybe some of you have been wondering why I’d gone AWOL in the last couple of weeks….
Special shoutout to my personal person, Dr. T of Tamie’s alcove, who was kind enough to ask me in particular. ☺️😘

Ahhh…life has been happening. And just when I think the drama is about to end, a new one begins.

What can I say? God is FAITHFUL.

So my theme song for Melodious March was “I TESTIFY” by Ada. Of course at the time, I had no idea of the challenges that awaited me during the month but I could sense the mighty hand of God working quietly behind the scenes…my testimony therefore is in three folds:

1. A Narrow Escape:
A couple of days to the end of March, the enemy made a very cheap, but unsuccessful attempt on my life, via a motorcycle accident.
Like I never expected it…

It was a lovely and gay Monday morning, and I was feeling especially elated that day. You see, the evening before, my sister (who was on a short visit to Lagos) and I, had attended an awesome worship service at JoshuaVille (Mainland) and I was yet to recover from the experience.
It was in that jolly mood that I wished my sister a safe trip and I left for LUTH.
A few minutes down the road the accident occurred, one moment I was walking, the next moment I was flat on my face. The shock of it all…it felt like an out-of-body experience. In fact, at some point, I wanted to laugh…by then sympathizers had gathered and I found myself being taken to the Emergency room. It was on getting there that I had a release from my trance-like state, and soon enough the tears flowed.

2. Through Pain and Tears:
Thankfully the injuries I sustained from the accident were mostly superficial…chiefly skin lacerations. It was an irony to find myself- a doctor in the role of a rather helpless patient.
The weeks that followed were spent in significant physical and psychological distress. I consumed lots of medications, had a good number of wound dressings and found myself in the dental centre more times than I cared about. To further complicate matters, I was sleeping poorly, eating and drinking shabbily, and suffering from mood swings.



What had initially appeared to be a transient phase was fast becoming a frustrating experience for me. I felt (permit me to say) quite angry with God for bringing such distress my way at such an inconvenient time…the MDCN exams were just around the corner.
If only I knew…

3. Way-Maker, Miracle-Worker and Promise-Keeper:
So it was that at some point, I considered not taking the exams, because my situation seemed hopeless. There were days when I had neither the energy nor the willpower to even study. I also missed a couple of revision classes and there was so much to cover.
Thank God for the support of good friends, like Dr. Ify (Chief of PQs) and Dr. Bunmi (my OSCE tutor)…

(These ladies MUST make Heaven😘😘😘)
Along with the encouragement of other well wishers and my ever-praying parents, I was able to move from a state of despondence to a state of dependence on God.

Needless to say, I passed the exams. And all I can say is…
BABA NA YOU BIKO!

“[I] thank the LORD, who has not let [My] enemies destroy [Me]. [I] have escaped like a bird from a hunter’s trap; the trap is broken, and [I am] free! [My] help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.”

‭‭Psalms‬ ‭124:6-8‬ ‭GNB‬‬

(Emphasis mine)

The next part of the story is how I transited from being a patient to becoming a caregiver for another, and so my Easter break was practically spent within the four walls of a hospital (Naija hospitals are just one kind), but I won’t bore you with the details sha.


Thank God for victory.

Again, I testify.

:::requ1ne:::

8 thoughts on “HELLO FROM THE OTHER SIDE…

Leave a Reply

