DAY 9: UNSEEN BATTLES.

Hi Everyone,

Image credit: web
I apologize for the short-break, some minor issues came up but thankfully I got through.
This evening as I walked through my neighborhood, I observed the activities going on around me; there were children returning from school, older folks returning from their workplace, vendors selling their wares, a few bikes carrying passengers and other random scenes on the street. Most of the locals exchanged greetings with one another in a familiar way, and it appeared that I was just another stranger walking by. Then it occurred to me that it’s the same route I’ve been taking for a while now and there would be a few people who are used to seeing my “strange” face by now.
I wasn’t so invincible after all.
It’s not many days ago that one of my neighbors in the compound I live in, accused me of not greeting her regularly, when I approached her for a certain assistance. In my mind I was like “oh”.
Obviously I went into an apology mode immediately because…no time to make compound-enemies😂

Just in case you’re wondering, in Nigeria, respect is something we often demand rather than earn. And for some reason, greeting someone, especially an older person is a cheap way of showing respect. That’s by the way.

The bottomline is, there are people who know we exist even if we don’t know they do. This is not to encourage superstitious beliefs or paranoia, but it’s the truth.

You’re being watched.

Although that’s not always a bad thing.

Anyway today I’m thankful for victory over unseen battles.

It doesn’t make it easy that the Nigerian culture is a morbidly superstitious one, where everyone feels like someone is out to get them.


 I won’t even go into some of the negative mindset we have cultivated or passed on to our kids. Thank God those days of tormenting fears in my life are in the past.
If you’re a Christian familiar with the scriptures, you’ll understand that there are spiritual battles being fought on a daily basis.

The greatest of which is the battle for your soul.



We are constantly in a Spiritual Warfare.
According to the scriptures we are told to,

“Put on all the armour that God gives you, so that you will be able to stand up against the Devil’s evil tricks. For we are not fighting against human beings but against the wicked spiritual forces in the heavenly world, the rulers, authorities, and cosmic powers of this dark age.”

Ephesians 6:11-12 GNB
But there are physical battles and dangers too.

And that’s why it’s comforting to know that:

“He will not let you fall; your protector is always awake. The protector of Israel never dozes or sleeps. The LORD will guard you; he is by your side to protect you.”
Psalms 121:3-5 GNB

And here’s a famous scripture,


Psalm 91.

The good news is that God watches over his own.

He protects. He shields. He defends. He fights.

Whether the battle is seen or unseen, physical or spiritual, direct or indirect, I’m assured that:

God watches over me. And I don’t need to watch my back.

I love this song,

What are you thankful for?
***
Do you need professional help to keep your home or office space organized?

I recommend Live Easy Organisers,

Contact: +2348034963750 or liveeasyorganisers@gmail.com


***

PS: I’ll catch up on all the days I missed at the end of the challenge.
Remain fervent,
:::requ1ne:::

2 thoughts on “DAY 9: UNSEEN BATTLES.

  1. Ever seen the series Person of Interest?
    “You’re being watched” reminds me of it. It’s a common phrase used in it.
    Yeah, people know we exist more than we know or think they do. Sometimes it’s either suprising or amusing. Lol
    It’s also vice versa.

    I’m so grateful for all the unseen battles God protects me from. Without doubt I know they exist but he’s always got my back. For that I’m thankful.

    1. Awwh…I apologize for the late reply.
      I’ve not seen the series you mentioned, but I agree to being surprised/amused or vice-versa at getting to know someone is watching.
      We live in a weird world but thank God for keeping watch over us at all times.

Leave a Reply

