DAY 4: HUMBLE BEGINNINGS!

Welcome back.

Earlier this evening while running an errand, I saw some kids on my street mostly doing what kids know how to do best, playing.

Image credit: Vanguard

I also observed a few of them carrying buckets of water on their heads, because you see, I currently live in a community that lacks running water, so you either fetch from a community bore-hole, or have your own pumping machine.
Anyway, today I took time to Pause and Reflect on my own past, when I was in similar shoes.

 My brother and I often trekked some ten minutes distance from our house most evenings to fetch water from our neighborhood. It wasn’t unusual for me to spill about a quarter of the content on my way home though…but no matter the quantity of water I delivered home, it was worth the effort to my mum.

Fast forward to about 20 years later, and I’ve almost forgotten what it feels like not to have running water 24/7 in the house until recently. Thankfully , I don’t have to do the fetching myself, I just employ the services of some of the locals for a token fee.

Looking back now, I can only smile.



That’s just one part of my story, there are several  twists and turns to it.

Who I am today, is not who I’ve always been.

I’ve come a long way from the young and timid girl who would rather spectate rather than participate in life. I used to be way too laid-back. For those that think I’m slow, you have no idea how “slow” I really was. Over the years, I’ve been privileged to serve and lead different people. And I keep getting better at it. Not only that, I’ve also been able to volunteer a number of times, something I won’t naturally do.

I’ve come a long way from the grumpy, always moody teenager who couldn’t be bothered to smile about anything for any reason. Thank God for the Eunice that now Smiles.



– I’ve come a long way from the young fault-finding and insecure adult who was concerned about whether or not she would find true love in her lifetime or fulfill destiny or even make it to heaven
. I can truly say, I may not have all the answers yet, but I know one who does, GOD.

Oh, I’ve really come a long way

Don’t let me even bore you with how helplessly hopeless I used to be in the kitchen as an undergraduate. 

Semi-cooked beans, burnt noodles and tomato paste stew were my signature brands… πŸ™ˆπŸ˜‚
I’m not quite there yet, but a good number of people today can testify without bias of my culinary skills.

Hallelujah Somebody!

Ewedu and Stew…yummilicious!
My journey through Med school was another huge testimony, I don’t even know how, but GOD did it. Technically speaking, I was on the dean’s list twice, and I won’t even lie I didn’t even have a well structured study plan then.


It was God.

There’s so much about me that has changed for the better. I’ve been blessed in more ways than I can even count in the past few years.
Sometimes on reflection, I tend to chide myself for being such a latecomer as per personal achievements, or why I’m just learning some basic lessons about life, but then I say to myself, It’s better late than never.
So today, I’m sincerely thankful to God for where he has brought me from.


He takes all the credit. He deserves all the praise.

I’m Content about where I am now, and Confident about where he is taking me to.

Like the scriptures say,

β€œI alone know the plans I have for you, plans to bring you prosperity and not disaster, plans to bring about the future you hope for.”

Jeremiah 29:11 GNB

and I particularly love this,

β€œDo not let your heart envy sinners [who live godless lives and have no hope of salvation], But [continue to] live in the [reverent, worshipful] fear of the LORD day by day. Surely there is a future [and a reward], And your hope and expectation will not be cut off.”
PROVERBS 23:17-18 AMP

and this, 


So my dear readers, you may not be you where you want to be yet, but thank God you are not where you used to be.

Life is a journey. Enjoy it. 

What are you thankful for today?
***

For deliciousness creating butterflies in your belly, 

Contact BUTTERFLIESTREATS for your weddings, birthdays and other events

We make cakes (fondant, buttercream), small chops, snacks etc 

Location: Oyo town, Oyo state, Nigeria. 

Contact: 07063502765

Butterfliestreats@gmail.com

@butterfliestreats (instagram)


***

Remain Fervent,
:::requ1ne:::

10 thoughts on “DAY 4: HUMBLE BEGINNINGS!

  1. Estoy muy bien

    I’m grateful to God too for humble beginnings. Today people find it so hard to believe when I tell them some parts of my upbringing. They hardly believe I was an aje kpako..they mistake me with one who had aje butter beginnings.
    I just laugh
    It’s been God all the way.

    For today I’m grateful for fried plantain!!

    1. Loool…fried plantain ke?! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ƒ
      I’m grateful for that too…I don’t crave for it as much as I used to though.

      Thank God for where we started from…I can relate to the aje pako days too. Lots of stories to tell really…

  2. Humble beginnings… Hmmm… It was rough, not where I envisaged to be by now but I’m getting there.
    *yes, you were quite timid*😁

    1. Lol…thank God for where we all are. It can only get better by his grace.
      I’m no longer the “timid” lady of those days o…the righteous is as BOLD as a LION!!!πŸ˜†πŸ˜†

Leave a Reply

