DAY 27-IF I WERE YOU.

Welcome back.

For some reasons, I craved for Lamb Stew since the beginning of this week. The truth is I’ve had it only once, if I remember clearly, and it was on a plane, over 2 years ago. My brain decidedly registered how it looked and tasted, and randomly reminds me now and then, hence the craving. I really looked forward to preparing the Lamb Stew this weekend, so I checked some recipes online and came up with a list of ingredients I had to buy. It was even my desire to blog about my cooking adventure. But guess what? Today of all days, when I needed it most, the Supermarket where I shop didn’t have Lamb meat😬😕😥👎. And so, my 1-week Lamb stew craving went down the drain, just like that. Anyway, Life goes on.

That brings me to this, the things we humans crave for. It’s natural for us to desire things with varying levels of passion. As our personalities differ, so do our tastes and priorities. Talking of Pleasure in particular, Music, Fashion, Food, Books, Movies and even the Friends we keep, the spectrum is so wide. 

However, as mundane as this sounds, the things we feed on affect the way our minds work. And by feeding, I mean the things we eatwatch, listen to, and associate with

If you are what you eat, you are what you see and hear. 

-E.A Bucchianeri.

All of who I am today (physically, mentally and spiritually) is a reflection of what I’ve fed on over the years. I’ve heard people argue that it doesn’t matter what song you listen to, or what book you read. But the truth is, the crap you take in, is the crap you bring out. Our thoughts, words, and actions are only as good as our daily cravings. That’s why to be Positively inclined, is to be Positively Empowered

Sadly, our generation promotes such unwholesome desires through music, movies and fashion, that many young people have little or nothing else to think of or talk about. 

As a believer, I have to constantly remind myself of what God’s word says in Philippians 4:8 (NIV):

“…whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable-if anything is excellent or praiseworthy-think about such things.”


So if I were you, I’ll be careful about what my eyes see,

And if I were you, I’ll be careful about what my ears hear,

If I were you, I’ll be careful with what my mind thinks,

what my mouth eats, what my body wears, where my feet go,

And who my friends are. 

Because what I love, is a reflection of who I am,

And who I am is a reflection of what I love.

Requine.

  

Thankfully, despite some of the limitations via social media, each of us still has a role to play. It takes a person who is deliberate to carefully make healthy choices. It’s weird to some folks, when they see me watching animated movies primarily meant for kids. Well, I prefer the soft contents, the fact that such movies don’t promote obscenities, violence or sensuality. And of course, there’s always the Happily-ever-after ending. I love ’em!

Why would I give 2 precious hours of my day to a movie that ends in tragedy? Of what benefit is that to me, considering that my mind has a very active imagination that would replay such scenes over and over. And what cause would such movie promote anyway, other than to make me depressed. The world as we know it, is a tough place to live already. 

That’s my two cents for you folks.
Prevention they say, is better than cure. 

Thank you for reading!

:::Requ1ne:::

Leave a Reply

