DAY 21- WHILE IT IS DAY.

Welcome back. 

As I looked out of my window this evening, I discovered it was dark already even though it was only few minutes after 6. It appears we are in a season of late dawns and early sunsets. I think it has something to do with the Solstice as the gurus call it. This got me meditating on the application of the DAY and NIGHT Principle.

@6:05 PM SVG time.

I’m really fascinated by the elderly, the Quinquagenarians, Sexagenarians, Septuagenarians, Octogenarians and so forth. I see them around a lot too, especially at the hospital. Many of them now depend on the goodwill and support of their children and other family members, the strength and glamour of their youth all gone. I wonder what it feels like to be an 80-something-year-old. My wealth of experience would certainly give me lots of wisdom and hindsight. I’m sure some of the things that matter to me presently wouldn’t be that important again. I don’t want to be in my 80s or 90s before discovering that I’d wasted my youthfulness on fashion, fun, fame or some other flimsy thing. It’s an illusion to think that I’ll be Forever young. So I need to be conscious of the way I live now, so that in retrospect I’ll have few (if any) regrets. 

I must work the works of him that sent me, while it is day: the night cometh, when no man can work. (John 9:4)

There is a Day and Night component to every living creature. Life begins at dawn, peaks at midday and declines by sunset. We the youths of this generation, must remember that this is only a transient phase. Someday, in the not-too-distant future, we have to give account to generations unborn, of the wise or foolish choices we made. Sadly, the society tends to equate being Youthful as a time to get rich quick, party hard, and live wild. That’s far from it however, a lot is expected from us and we mustn’t be found wanting. Like I tell myself often, EuniceOne day, your children will mark your script. 

Ofcourse we must also remember that eventually when our lives are spent and done, each of us would give an account to the Creator.  The Preacher puts it beautifully: 

REJOICE, O YOUNG MAN, IN THY YOUTH; AND LET THY HEART CHEER THEE IN THE DAYS OF THY YOUTH, AND WALK IN THE WAYS OF THINE HEART AND IN THE SIGHT OF THINE EYES: BUT KNOW THOU, THAT FOR ALL THESE THINGS GOD WILL BRING THEE INTO JUDGEMENT. (ECCLESIASTES 11:9)

I hope you spend the rest of your day in godly wisdom. 

Thanks for reading.

:::Requ1ne:::

Leave a Reply

