DAY 24: HOW HOT ARE YOU?

Today’s post is by someone I have much admiration for. To put it simply, she writes with grace. It’s a great honor to have her share with us. Read & be blessed.

*********************************************************************

I’m not a fan of cold mornings, especially when I have to get up early, like on weekdays, Sundays too. A cold Saturday morning? Perfect. I can snuggle under my blanket and cuddle my pillow as I catch a few more winks. However, I digress.

hot
Lately, there has been a lot of cold mornings. This morning is no exception. It’s been raining almost through out the night and I can still hear the intermittent ‘pitter-patter’ of rain drops on the roof.
Rolling out of bed is a chore all by itself. The blanket has refused to unwrap itself from my body. To make matters worse, I discover that one of my nostrils is “blocked”.
I shake the chill out of my bones and barely drag my semi-awake, stuffy-nosed, still-wrapped-in-a-blanket self, to the kitchen to make myself a cup of coffee. I change my mind and decide to make a cup of honey and lemon tea instead.
So, I boil some water and pour it into a mug. I take one look at all the steam dancing from the mug, and I know the water is too hot to drink. Since I have no interest whatsoever in cooking my tongue, I add some cold water to the mug and carefully take a sip.
Next thing, I know is that I’m spraying water from my mouth into the sink. The water’s so lukewarm, it’s nauseating. I can’t remember tasting anything so confused in my life. Plus it tasted a little ‘funny’ too.
“Oho! Now you know what it’s like”, a voice in my head goes as I experience a “light bulb” moment. The portion of the bible that talks about Jesus “spewing” people out of His mouth because they are lukewarm flashes before my mind’s eye.
Well, well, well, talk about being convicted by a cup of (almost) tea.
I note it down mentally. Later in the day I consult my YouVersion bible app to do a little study. So here’s a little something I’d like to share. I’ll try not to make it boring I promise. Thanks.
In Revelations 3, from the 14th verse, God writes to the Church in Laodicea.
“14 And to the angel (messenger) of the assembly (church) in Laodicea write:These are the words of the Amen, the trusty and faithful and true Witness, the Origin and Beginning and Author of God’s creation:
15 I know your [record of] works and what you are doing; you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot!
16 So, because you are lukewarm and neither cold nor hot, I will spew you out of My mouth! (AMP)”
After reading that passage, I had to ask myself, “Young lady, How ‘hot’ are you?” Oh! the horror of being “spewed” because one is lukewarm. The hooooorrrror!
We may be talking fluent “christain-ese” and all. You know, talkin’ the church talk and doin’ the church walk. But we know it ain’t about that.
Who is a lukewarm christian? We hear church lingo like ” bring on fire/ burning/ ablaze for God”. What do these terms mean? How come the lukewarm Christians are the ones that get to be spewed? How about the cold Christians?
C. S. Lewis said, “A cold, self-righteous prig who goes regularly to church may be far nearer to hell than a prostitute. But, of course, it is better to be neither”
According to Francis Chan, here’s a check list to know if you’re a Lukewarm christian. (http://chrismarlow.me/2008/06/are-you-a-lukewarm-christian/).

However, there is something I’d like to lay a little emphasis on. It hit me Bam! In the (metaphorical) face when it was explained to me.
Here’s what verse 15-17 looks like in The Message translation
(cue dramatic music)
“I know you inside and out, and find little to my liking. You’re not cold, you’re not hot—far better to be either cold or hot! You’re stale. You’re stagnant. You make me want to vomit.
You brag, ‘I’m rich, I’ve got it made, I need nothing from anyone,’ oblivious that in fact you’re a pitiful, blind beggar, threadbare and homeless.”
I just like that translation. So back to The King James Version:
“V16- So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spue thee out of my mouth.
V17- Because thou sayest, I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing; and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked:
Did you see why Jesus was going to spew them too? Because they said……(Vs 17)
So! The lukewarm Christians are also those who think they are all that. In other words, self righteous Christians.
Yes, we may have good works, and are actively working in God’s vineyard (more church lingo). But when we become satisfied with that and even begin to brag about it… what we do is dilute all that ‘hotness’ with some self-righteousness and voila…we turn into lukewarm, spewable christians.
I was reminded again that, “For by grace are we saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

Want to turn up the heat? Here’s how to. Jesus says, “I counsel you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire, that you may be rich; and white garments, that you may be clothed, that the shame of your nakedness may not be revealed; and anoint your eyes with eye salve, that you may see. As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten. Therefore be zealous and repent. Behold, I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.” (Revelation 3:18)

I’ll just end with this quote from Eric M. Pazdziora
“There’s hope. Jesus counts even the “lukewarm” people among “those whom I love”; otherwise He wouldn’t take the trouble to correct them. It’s never too late to repent and open the door to friendship with Christ. If you let Jesus sit down with you at your table, He’ll let you sit down with Him on His throne.”

Jemima.

*********************************************************************

To read more from Jemima, kindly visit/follow her blog: https://jemstoneblog.wordpress.com/

or like her Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/jemstoneblogpage?fref=ts

Thank you for reading!

Tomorrow’s post (DAY 25) is by my friend DEYEMI OLORIN…who you’ve also previously met, he’ll be sharing ”WHAT LIES AHEAD?” Pls do not miss it.

7 thoughts on “DAY 24: HOW HOT ARE YOU?

  1. First of all, the cold morning illustration is skillful and at some points got me laughing this morning. Sincerely, a lot of us christains are so lukewarm(routine christians). I pray God will open our eyes to know where we belong and shift us to where he desires us to be.
    God bless you Jemima.

Leave a Reply

