Gratitude is an Attitude.

Eunicewrites..

Dear Reader,
The year is still quite new and I welcome you back to this blog. I know most of the past expectations were not met on my part, but I’m thankful to God for new beginnings, it gives me the opportunity to do better.
It’s my sincere desire to give all friends of this blog a meaningful reading experience this year.
So sit back, relax and enjoy the ride as I bring you my very first post.

*** **** *** *** **** ***
Gratitude & Attitude.
These are two things I like to write about, especially because God is still teaching me how to apply both principles to my daily life.

What is Gratitude?
Gratitude is the art of showing appreciation. It is the expression, rather than just the feeling of thankfulness.
“Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.”
– William Ward
Be grateful for the little things of life. The eyes to see. Ears to hear. Mouth to speak. Sound mind. Healthy body. Clothes to put on. Sleeping & Waking-up. Eating & drinking. Family, Friends, Neighbors & Colleagues. The list is endless. Life is a gift we’ve been given to make the best use of, so enjoy it while it lasts.

What is Attitude?
Attitude is Everything- Keith Harrell.
Attitude is a deliberate (conscious) mental perspective (approach, outlook, view) to life. It can be broadly categorized into two: An Optimistic Attitude and A Pessimistic Attitude. It’s easy to figure out where we belong most of the time.
I’ve realized again and again that whatever comes our way is not as important as how we react to it. Response and Reaction are similar words that are often used interchangeably. However, I will like to define them this way:
A REACTION is usually immediate. It comes when you’re not readily prepared for a situation that occurs. Take this funny example, if a mouse suddenly jumps at you out of nowhere, what would you do? Knowing the kind of person I am, I’ll probably give a long scream and run away as fast as I can. Now, that’s a reaction. The situation was unexpected.
A RESPONSE on the other hand may be delayed. This means you take the time to plan for it before taking action. Other times, you have already prepared for the situation in advance, so you simply go ahead with your thought-out response.
We can’t anticipate most situations, but we can (always) control our response. Choosing how to react is what defines response. Exceptional situations in life can either leave you bitter or better, the ultimate choice is yours.
I know this is easier said than done, but we can atleast try to put our attitude in the right perspective by choosing to respond rather than react to life.

So to sum it up nicely, Gratitude is an Attitude. We can choose to respond to life with a perspective of thankfulness. We can live thankfully everyday. Gratitude and Attitude are daily choices we have to consciously make. I enjoin everyone reading this to make it one of their resolutions this year.
*** **** *** *** **** ***
Year 2015 will be an exceptional one on this blog. In February, we’ll kick off a 28-day challenge where articles from several friends will be published. Some of them will also feature as guest writers. Without making much promises, I know by faith that it’ll be quite an Awesome Experience. Stay Tuned.
REQUINE.

8 thoughts on “Gratitude is an Attitude.

    1. Thanks Doc…the little things do count…and often times, greatness arises from our approach to many little and seemly insignificant things. So help us God.

  1. Very lovely one here! Indeed, gratitude is an attitude……
    i actually laughed when i read this : ” Take this funny example, if a mouse suddenly jumps at you out of nowhere, what would you do? Knowing the kind of person I am, I’ll probably give a long scream and run away as fast as I can.”

  2. I personally have opined that like minds love many things alike. I love this particular topic, I know requine does too and so do my other brethren hence I will add a small piece.
    “Gratitude is such a great attitude that not one soul on this latitude will achieve anything truly good without being grateful for what it has been given and the things it can give too”

Leave a Reply

